U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Guides, Outfitters,
and Forest Visitors:

Mexican gray wolves have been Recommendations You may legaily:

reintroduced into the Apache

National Forest in Arizona and e Respect posted wildlife ¢ harass a wolf without injuring
are expected to disperse into the closures. it, but you must report it

Gila National Forest in New within seven days;

Mexico. e Treat wolves and other wild o ,

‘ animals with respect. ¢ kill or injure a wolf that is
Mexican gray wolves are killing, wounding, or biting
protected under the Endangered o Never feed a wild animal. your cattle, sheep, horses,
Species Act. Care should be Keep food and garbage in mules, or burros on your
exercised when hunting or airtight containers. private or tribal land, but you
trapping in wolf recovery areas to must report it within 24 hours;
avoid Kkilling or injuring a Mexican Dispose of gray water at least
gray wolf. Hunters should be sure 100 yards from camp. * kill, injure, or harass a wolf in
of their target. defense of human life, but you

Keep dogs under control at all must report it within 24 hours.

For more information on the times and leashed when

Mexican gray wolf recovery ossible You may not legailly:
%‘If'ggﬁméconpact 52%5/1284};5 aé:i%ﬁ : | e kill or injure a wolf just

ildlife Service a - or jur
505/248-6664 or the Arizona Game Islsgrldoﬁglé;ia? or see wolves because it is near you or
and Fish Department in Pinetop, Y p: your property;

Arizona, at 520/367-4281. Contain dogs in tent

or vehicle, if possible. ¢ kill or injure a wolf that

For law enforcement issues, attacks your pet;
contact your local game warden. Frighten or harass wolves ‘ ‘ .
To report sightings or incidents, away, if necessary. ¢ kill or injure a wolf feeding

call the 24-hour Mexican Wolf
Hotline at 1-888/459-9653.

on dead livestock;

¢ enter official closures around
occupied release pens, active
dens, and rendezvous sites;

¢ shoot a wolf because you
thought it was a coyote or
something else (you are
responsible for identifying
your target before shooting);

or

e attempt to do any of the above
actions or solicit someone else
to do them.

Violations of the above rules
may subject you to prosecution.
Criminal penalties may be up to
one year in jail and a fine of up to
$100,000.




